Tuesday, March 21, 2006

Wilco's folky Ryman setlist

Here's a setlist from the Wilco show in Nashville Friday night. Note the intial, heavy emphasis on Being There/Mermaid Avenue material:

1. Sunken Treasure
2. Remember the Mountain Bed
3. Airline to Heaven
4. At My Window Sad & Lonely
5. Forget the Flowers
6. Roses Bloom Again
7. California Stars
8. Muzzle of Bees
9. Hell is Chrome
10. Spiders (kidsmoke)
11. Jesus, etc.
12. Walken (new song)
13. Handshake Drugs
14. I Am Trying to Break Your Heart
15. A Shot in the Arm
16. At Least That's What You Said
17. Late Greats

Encore 1
Either Way (new songs)
I'm the Man Who Loves You

Encore 2
Passenger Side
War on War

Encore 3
Acuff Rose (Jeff solo, mic-less)

I'm not crazy about the self-proclaimed "fun," "non-arty" new songs, as the lyrics kinda suck and that's one thing Tweedy's always been good at. "Acuff-Rose" was lovely, though. In the past two years or so, we've all gotten used to seeing Tweedy noodling on his guitar and just generally rocking out, but part of me would love to get a view of him as a scrappy little pup on bass playing sideshow to Jay Farrar's moody brooding (a.k.a. Uncle Tupelo).

For "Acuff-Rose," though, which was played as a third encore, Tweedy came out solo with an acoustic guitar, stepped in front of the mic, and said "I just wanna play this song the way it was meant to be played." One girl filmed this performance and posted it; it's good enough for seeing and hearing, although it's pretty shaky. It's the closest thing to being there if you didn't go, so enjoy.



Post a Comment

<< Home